Polly Ha is Associate Professor/Reader in History at the University of East Anglia, a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society and a Life Member of Clare Hall, Cambridge. She is interested in early modern religious and political instability and its broader social and cultural ramifications. She formerly taught at the Universities of Cambridge and Southern California, and held Research Fellowships at The British Academy, The University of CambridgeThe American Antiquarian Society, The Huntington Library, and most recently The Long Room Hub at Trinity College Dublin. She is chief editor of the project’s critical edition The Puritans on Independencewhich is forthcoming with Oxford University Press, and editing the project’s special journal issue on freedom and independence. For more information on her research projects see

Senior Research Associates and Editorial Team

Edda FrankotUniversity of Aberdeen, is Senior Research Associate and Assistant Editor, supervising the editorial content of the project’s critical edition. She administrated a number of the project’s programmes and brings extensive experience to the project, including her previous work on the 1641 Depositions. She is currently the Project Manager and Editorial Research Fellow of a major Leverhulme Project ‘Law in the Aberdeen Council Registers, 1398-1511‘ at the University of Aberdeen.

Jonathan D. Moore, University of East Angliais Senior Research Associate and Assistant Editor of the project’s critical edition, holding responsibility for the biblical and theological content.  He received his PhD in historical theology and ecclesiastical history from Emmanuel College, University of Cambridge under the supervision of Eamon Duffy and is the author of English Hypothetical Universalism (Eerdmans, 2007) as well as several journal articles and chapters.

Critical Edition Advisory Board

John Morrill, Emeritus Professor of British and Irish History at the University of Cambridge and Fellow of Selwyn College, has written extensively on early modern Britain and Ireland. He was the founding editor of the Royal Historical Society Bibliography Online, has been Consultant Editor for over 6000 17th-century lives in the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography and is General Editor of the Letters and Speeches of Oliver Cromwell (OUP).

Chad B. Van Dixhoorn, a Canadian-born theologian and historian, is the editor of the five-volume The Minutes and Papers of the Westminster Assembly: 1643-1652 published by Oxford University Press in 2012. He received his PhD from the University of Cambridge and is Chancellor’s Professor of Historical Theology (RTS all campuses).

The editorial team wishes to thank other members of the Cromwell and Westminster Assembly Projects, including Dr Mark Garcia and Joel Halcomb, who assisted with the editorial and critical content of a related edition in the early stages of the project.  Joseph Ashmore helped bring the edition to completion with the identification of references.

Research Group Steering Committee

John Coffey, Head of School of History at the University of Leicester and Professor of Early Modern History, is a leading authority on religious toleration and revolutionary political thought and has served as a senior advisor for numerous projects on early modern politics and religion.

Andrew O’Shaughnessy, Saunders Director of the Robert H. Smith International Center for Jefferson Studies, Monticello, is Professor of History at the University of Virginia and the author of An Empire Divided: The American Revolution and the British Caribbean (2000) and The Men Who Lost America: British Leadership, the American Revolution and the Fate of the Empire (2013) which won five national awards including the George Washington Book Prize.    

Show Your Support

Get exclusive content, updates and more!
Email address